Skip to content

Promo video of the investigation

November 4, 2009

Please, do share. Thank you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thomas Lynch permalink
    November 17, 2010 8:55 am

    I watched the video. It was one of the most impactful and moving journalistic pieces I have ever seen.

    So, what I don’t understand is given physical, mental and exclusionary the state of residents how can de-institutionalization be a viable option at this time? I think that de-institutionalization means something different from how I would normally apply the term. Adequate de-institutionalization seems at least a generation away. In my mind, the first step has to be proper living and care standards for those in care, broad public education, prevention where possible and entirely new approaches to helping communities and families manage these care issues. My own preliminary view is that what is first required is proper institutionalization and care programs that would then lead to de-institutionalization. That may not be politically correct.

    I completely understand that closing down these facilities is the right thing to do but there needs to be a comprehensive, practical plan with some phased approach that includes a new and much better form of centralized care required. That is how I am striving to make sense of what I have seen and learned.

Leave a Reply

